No images
The Board
Tuesday, 20 November 2007 09:14


The daily work of the International Service for Human Rights (ISHR) is conducted by the Secretariat. The policy-making body of ISHR, which oversees the work of the Secretariat, is the Board.


Our current Board members are:


Mehr Khan Williams (Pakistan) – Chair

Mehr Khan Williams is the former UN Assistant Secretary-General and Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights and Regional Director of UNICEF in East Asia and the Pacific.


Rosemary McCreery (Ireland) – Vice-Chair

Rosemary McCreery is the former Special Adviser to UNICEF, head of UNICEF in Russia and Belarus, and UN Assistant-Secretary-General for Human Resources.


Jean-Marie Fakhouri (Switzerland/Lebanon) – Treasurer

Jean-Marie Fakhouri is the former UNHCR Controller and Director of Resource Management.


Reine Alapini-Gansou (Benin) – Member

Reine Alapini-Gansou is the Special Rapporteur on human rights defenders for the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights.


Sir Nicolas Bratza (United Kingdom) – Member

Sir Nicolas Bratza is the former President of the European Court of Human Rights and served as a judge of that court from 1998 to 2012.  Sir Nicolas is also President of the British Institute of Human Rights.


Gustavo Gallon (Colombia) – Member

Gustavo Gallon is the Director of the Colombian Commission of Jurists and former UN Special Rapporteur on Equatorial Guinea.


Hina Jilani (Pakistan) – Member

Hina Jilani established Pakistan’s first all-women’s law firm in 1981, the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan in 1987 and served as the UN Special Representative on Human Rights Defenders from 2000 to 2008.


Walter Kalin (Switzerland) – Member

Walter Kalin is a Professor of Law at the University of Bern and member of the UN Human Rights Committee.


Asma Khader (Jordan) – Member

Asma Khader is the Secretary General of the Jordanian National Commission for Women and a member of the Permanent Arab Court on Violence against Women. She is a former Minister of the Jordanian Government.


Egbert Myjer (The Netherlands)– Member

Egbert Meyjer is a Professor of Human Rights Law, a Commissioner with the International Commission of Jurists, and a Board member of Amnesty International in The Netherlands. In 2012, he was made a Commander of the Order of Orange-Nassau.


Chris Sidoti (Australia) – Member

Chris Sidoti is an international human rights consultant. Formerly he was the Australian Human Rights Commissioner, Australian Law Reform Commissioner, and Director of ISHR.


> top


Last Updated on Wednesday, 17 July 2013 15:17
© by The International Service for Human Rights (ISHR) 2018