15 new members elected to the Human Rights Council
Monday, 23 May 2011 16:24


On 20 May 2011, the General Assembly elected 15 new members to the Human Rights Council (Council). The new members will take up their seats on the 47-member body following the Council's 17th session in June. They are (by region):

  • Africa: Benin, Botswana, Burkino Faso (re-elected), Congo
  • Asia: India, Indonesia, Kuwait, Philippines
  • Eastern Europe: Czech Republic, Romania
  • Latin America and Caribbean: Chile (re-elected), Costa Rica, Peru
  • Western Europe and Others: Italy, Austria

Read a more in-depth article about the latest Council elections here.

Last Updated on Monday, 23 May 2011 16:25
© by The International Service for Human Rights (ISHR) 2018